Valentine’s Day Card Using SVG and Emboss Resist

Happy Saturday! I’m so thankful the weekend is finally here. Sometimes, the weeks just drag on and on. Staying home with my two little dudes is a huge blessing, but sometimes they try my patience hehe.

Since we’re exactly one month away from Valentine’s Day, I figured I’d start sharing some sweet little cards with you. This one makes my heart so happy!

20170114_112019.jpg

I started with an SVG file that I purchased from SVGCuttingFiles.com a while back. I actually used this same file for a cute back to school card, so it’s definitely got a few tricks up its sleeve! This file comes with a card base, the card front, and a cute pair of glasses, too.

Kawaii Beaker Shaped Card

Once I had all of my pieces cut with my Cricut, I used clear embossing ink (watermark ink) to stamp a background image on my card front. I chose the Typewriter Text background stamp from My Favorite Things. After getting the ink applied to my card front, I used white embossing powder to coat the wet ink. Then, I used my heat tool to melt the powder, giving me a raised, textured pattern on my cardstock.

Next, I used two Distress Inks (Worn Lipstick and Barn Door) to ink my card front. You can see how the heat embossed pattern doesn’t take the ink. This leaves my background stamp’s pattern in white. How cool!

Image result for barn door distress ink              Image result for worn lipstick distress ink

After inking my card front, I adhered my card front to the card base. I also heat embossed the glasses die cut with black embossing powder for a shiny look. I liked this so much better than a plain piece of cardstock. I could have used clear embossing powder for both of these, since I was keeping the original paper color, but I went ahead and used the colored ones instead. After my glasses were complete, I adhered them to the card front.

Then, I decided to add a ribbon near the top of the card. I chose a red gingham ribbon and tied a cute little bow for it. Once the bow was adhered with Multi Medium Matte, I added some cute accents. I made my own enamel dots using Perler beads and adhered them to my card front.

Finally, I attached the interior card panel. It has a sentiment (I used ‘print then cut’ on my Cricut for this) that reads: ‘We have great chemistry’. So cute!

Voila, there’s my adorable Valentine’s Day card!

Be sure to check out the YouTube video for all the nitty gritty details on how this card came together. Be sure to subscribe to my channel if you’d like to see all my new videos as they’re posted!

Warm wishes and big hugs!

Jess

 

SUPPLIES:

Beaker Card SVG: goo.gl/il7mBT

Ranger White Embossing Powder: goo.gl/b20uGI

Ranger Black Embossing Powder: goo.gl/sKpwMV

My Favorite Things ‘Typewriter Text’ Background Stamp: goo.gl/XIgWfS

Darice Heat Tool: goo.gl/q3x27J

Sistema Container: goo.gl/t7zVrJ

Tasting Spoon: goo.gl/6OUYsG

Coffee Filter: goo.gl/syIsYy

Distress Ink ‘Barn Door’: goo.gl/GQhWWE

Distress Ink ‘Worn Lipstick’: goo.gl/GDcmT6

Ranger Multi Medium Matte: goo.gl/V9ftTN

Scotch ATG 714 Tape Gun: goo.gl/X1bRSH

Scotch ATG 714 Tape Gun Refills: goo.gl/dkaRqo

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Card Using SVG and Emboss Resist

Leave a Reply

