Wishing for Summer – Card Tutorial & Video

Hello!

I posted this video on YouTube a couple days ago, so I figured it was time to post about it here as well. Be sure to check out the YouTube video below (or on YouTube HERE), and view all of the process photos I’ve included! This sunshiny card has me wishing desperately for warmer weather, what about you?

To start this card, I selected a stencil from Tim Holtz and this adorable stamp set from Neat & Tangled called ‘My Sunshine.’ I selected the Distress Ink colors I wanted to use: Scattered Straw, Mustard Seed, and Wild Honey. I chose these colors because they covered a nice range of bright to golden and almost orangey yellows. So pretty!

20170116_145336.jpg 20170116_150326.jpg

I went ahead and taped down my stencil using washi tape so it wouldn’t slide around while I was inking. I used my mini blending tool (I have a separate foam pad for each color) and started with the lightest color, working my way outward towards the darker, more orange color.

20170116_150842.jpg 20170116_151051.jpg

I just love the way the colors turned out! It’s like I can feel the warmth just radiating off the paper.

After my inking was done, I die cut the Little Town Border from black cardstock using my Cuttlebug. I also die cut the Stitched Hillside Border using some patterned paper I had on hand. I used my Ranger Multi Medium Matte and Glossy AccentsGlossy Accents to attached the patterned paper to the Little Town Border, and then attached them both to my card front.

20170116_201548

Next, I decided on placement for my sentiment. I absolutely LOVE the scripty, hand written feel of this stamp by Neat and Tangled. So super cute! I used my Hampton Arts ‘Stamp Perfect’ to stamp the sentiment in Memento Tuxedo Black Ink, and then also stamped it with Versamark clear watermark ink.

20170116_153855 20170116_154003.jpg

While the ink was still nice and sticky, I used clear embossing powder and then melted it with my heat tool. I love the way the embossing powder gives the card a little more umph! than just a plain black stamp.

I wanted to frame the top and bottom of my card front with black cardstock for a little bit more of a dramatic and finished look, but I didn’t have a piece that was the right size and I really didn’t want to create more scraps. Off to my scrap folder I went, and cut one of my scrap pieces into two 1in x 5.5in pieces. I used my tape runner to attached these strips to the top and bottom of my card front. Then, I mounted it to my card front!

20170116_203447.jpg

Now that my card front is complete, it’s time to tackle the interior! I like to personalize the inside of all my cards, even if it’s something as simple as inking it to match the card front. I feel like it gives it such a nice, finished look, and I like that it gives the card a little more weight than just having the plain cardstock there.

For this card, I cut an interior piece of cardstock to 4 x 5.25. I decided to use Mustard Seed, and went ahead and inked the whole piece. Once that was done, I used the remaining two stamps from the My Sunshine set and used my Mini MISTI to stamp them with that same black ink.

20170116_205210                20170116_205510

I did also attached a few gold sequins, because every card needs a little sparkle, right? Well, I think so anyway!

20170116_211053

I really love the way this card turned out. Let me know what you think in the comments!

Warm wishes and big hugs,

Jess

2 thoughts on “Wishing for Summer – Card Tutorial & Video

Leave a Reply

