First Card Tutorial – YouTube Video

Happy Wednesday all! Our snow is melting away in 55 degree weather (that didn’t last long, did it?) and I couldn’t be happier. I like snow for about a day, then I’m over it. Since it’s all wet and slushy out, I decided to work on posting my first card tutorial. I created a super simple card that was inspired by a video I saw a few weeks ago from Jennifer McGuire. She has amazing tutorials and I have learned so many wonderful techniques from her videos. Be sure to check her out if you don’t follow her already!

I went a little crazy when Honey Bee Stamps had a sale for the owner’s birthday. She offered 35% of all stamps for her 35th birthday on 12/31/16. How cool is that? I had been dying to get a bunch of her sets, so I went nuts… Like, I may need to call someone for help? Nah… you can never have too many stamp sets, right? ….Right???

img_20170109_192652_597

To make my card, I used my new Hampton Arts Stamp Perfect stamp positioning tool. I had to re-ink the stamp several times as I wasn’t getting good coverage, but I think this was because I had the stamp hanging off the edge, so it wasn’t a completely flat surface.

20170110_1420591

Next, I stamped the gorgeous sentiment in Hero Arts Shadow Ink – Red Royal. After I got the sentiment stamped perfectly, I lathered it up in Wink of Stella Brush, because no card is complete without gobs and gobs of glitter. Am I right or am I right? You can see in the picture that my Wink of Stella had a little bit of an… accident on the k and a, but that’s okay. I made a few more of these and was more careful with my heavy handed embellishment hehe.

This has got to be one of the simplest cards ever, but man- I’m still pretty in love with it. It just has an elegant feel to it! Be sure to check out the video and share any feedback you have. This is my very first card tutorial, so there’s still plenty to learn!

Thanks for visiting, hope to see you again soon!

Jess

SUPPLIES

Fiskars Paper Trimmer: goo.gl/jV2MBp

Neenah 110lb Cardstock: goo.gl/k5QnvN

Honey Bee Stamps ‘Zen Bouquet’: goo.gl/UwP9Kb

Honey Bee Stamps ‘Large Thanks’: goo.gl/5AT8jX

Hero Arts Shadow Ink ‘Red Royal’: goo.gl/hNzRDi

Memento Tuxedo Black Ink: goo.gl/Y6Zaav

Bone Folder (part of scoring board set): goo.gl/VJjh3z

Hampton Arts Stamp Perfect: goo.gl/LouksC

Ranger Craft Sheet: goo.gl/B06M8Q

Scotch Expressions Washi Tape: goo.gl/KaibKW

Wink of Stella Glitter Brush: goo.gl/hi6Mia

4 thoughts on “First Card Tutorial – YouTube Video

Leave a Reply

