Spellbinders – A Charming Christmas

Hey friends!

I know what you’re thinking – ‘Christmas!? In September!?’ But stay with me on this one. These new dies from the A Charming Christmas collection by Spellbinders are so cute for your holiday cards. I don’t know about you, but I always end up behind on my Christmas cards, so getting a head start this year will definitely help!

Here’s a peek at the die set I’m using today. I decided to use the ornaments for my card. I’m going to be using the frame die on another card soon, so stay tuned for that!

S4-948-Becca-Feeken-Charming-Christmas-Charming-Christmas-Boughs-Etched-Dies-combo__99677.1531437172

To start off my card, I grabbed some kraft cardstock and cut a window using one of the Vintage Stitched Squares dies from Spellbinders. I used a spare piece of clear plastic to make the ‘window’ part of my shaker card. I just taped the clear plastic to the back side of my craft cardstock. I stamped the Falling Snow background from Simon Says Stamp on my craft cardstock in Soft Brown ink from Hero Arts. Then I added some ink around the edges with Gathered Twigs Distress Ink.

I decided to use the ornaments from the A Charming Christmas die set for the focus of this card. I grabbed my Copic markers and got to coloring. Once I had my ornaments colored up, I got the little metal part ready to go. To make them look more realistic, I used Liquid Platinum embossing powder. I also grabbed some green jute twine to tie bows and ‘hang’ the ornaments from the top of my card. I added a little shadow for the ornament at the bottom of the card to make it look like it was sitting on the ground instead of floating on my card.

To make my shaker area, I placed two layers of foam tape around the cutout on the back side of my card front. I used two layers to make sure my shaker bits had room to move around and wouldn’t get stuck. I added in some pretty ivory seed beads and chunk gold glitter (I found the glitter at the Dollar Spot at Target). To add a bit of interest, I stamped the sentiment ‘Have a cozy christmas’ from My Favorite Things in Soft Brown ink. Then, I just placed the white cardstock on to the back of my card front to seal in the shaker bits.

I added some white gel pen accents to my ornaments and then added a little sparkle with the chunky snowflake glitter (also from the dollar spot at Target) and clear sequins from Pretty Pink Posh.

That’s it for today! Let me know in the comments if you’ve started making Christmas cards yet!

Hugs and love to you all,

signature


2 thoughts on “Spellbinders – A Charming Christmas

Leave a comment