Lawn Fawnatics Challenge 43 – Wonderful Winter

Hey friends!

It’s a wonderful day for a challenge entry! I’m playing along with the Lawn Fawnatics challenge #43. The theme is ‘Wonderful Winter’ and I was so inspired by this beautiful color palette and photo example. How gorgeous are those colors?

lawnfawnatics_blogbadge-43-wonderful-winter-e1544814280591

I decided to use the colors and the photo for inspiration. I pulled out my Distress Inks and matched the colors as closely as I could. For my background, I used Spun Sugar, Scattered Straw, Shaded Lilac, Stormy Sky, and Hickory Smoke. I taped off the edges of my card front and got started with my blending.

I knew I wanted to make the sunset image shown in the inspiration photo, so I started at the bottom with the Hickory Smoke. I used this as the ‘ground’ in the forefront. Then I moved on to Stormy Sky. I left the tiniest space in between Stormy Sky and Scattered Straw to help give the illusion of the horizon. Then, I blended in my Spun Sugar and Shaded Lilac. I’m so happy with the way this turned out! To add some interest to my background, I splattered on some Pearl Aqua Pigment from Brutus Monroe and some white Gesso as well. I love the messy look this gave – like a snowy sky!

Deciding which adorable critters to use as the star of my card was the hardest part of this project! I grabbed a ton of winter sets and picked and chose a few. I ended up using Beary Happy Holidays, Sealed With a Kiss, and Merry Messages. I colored up my images with Copic markers and fussy cut them (I definitely need to get the dies for these sets!), then added some cute accents in white gel pen.

I stamped my sentiment on black card stock with Embossing Ink from Brutus Monroe and heat set it with Alabaster Embossing Powder. I cut a little fish tail on the end of my greeting and popped it up on foam tape for dimension. I matted my card front with some adorable gingham pattern from the Gotta Have Gingham paper pack. Too cute!

To finish off my card, I added a few clear sequins in various sizes. I wanted to add a little sparkle, but keep the focus on my ink blended background. I love how this turned out! If you haven’t checked out the challenge yet, be sure to head over to the Lawn Fawnatics site and see what it’s all about!

I’d also like to enter this card in the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge ‘Something New.’ This is a stamp that’s new (to me at least) and I’ve never used these adorable bears before!

Hugs and love to you all,

bb691-signature


https://linkdeli.com/widget.js?1543923411530

3 thoughts on “Lawn Fawnatics Challenge 43 – Wonderful Winter

Leave a comment