Card Walkthrough – Hero Arts Stamped Background

Hey guys!

It’s been a little hectic around here, so I’m happy to have a little time to sit down and write about a card I recently made. My youngest son (sweetest little 6 month old on the planet!) has lost over a pound since his 4 month checkup, so we’re on red alert and trying to figure out what in the world is going on. He’s the happiest thing on the planet, so we had no idea anything was even wrong until he got weighed. He’s had a bunch of tests and there are still more to come, but we’re hopeful that things will level out soon and he’ll be healthy and happy as can be. ❤

Anyhow, let’s talk card making! I sat down with one stamp set, determined to make a card. I’ve been hanging on to the ‘Stamp Your Own Fruit’ set from Hero Arts for a good long while, and I decided it was high time I used it! I started by stamping a background using the watermelon, cherry, and strawberry images on a piece of white cardstock. Then, I colored the images in using my Zig Clean Color Real Brush Pens. I used Peach Pink, Sugared Almond Pink, Pink, Emerald Green, Fluorescent Green, and Brown. I also used two reds for the cherries, Carmine Red and Wine Red.

20170403_232732

I used a white gel pen to add some small accents to the strawberries. Then I cut the background down with a stitched border rectangle from Lawn Fawn. I cut a piece of black cardstock, heat embossed the sentiment ‘You’re pretty sweet’ with white embossing powder, and trimmed a mat. I used the Pink Clean Color brush to color the edges of the mat piece and then mounted the black piece on top.

I used green baker’s twine for a pop of color, and stamped an extra watermelon. I color the watermelon and fussy cut it, then added glossy accents for a bit of shine. I mounted the heat embossed black cardstock and mat on some craft foam and adhered it to my card front, which I matted with a piece of black cardstock. I adhered it all to my card base to complete my card front.

The final step was to use Mowed Lawn distress ink on a piece of white cardstock for the interior of the card. I love how this adds a pop of color and ties the front and interior together for a complete look!

Voila, here’s the finished card!

20170406_143937

If you’re interested in the details, or seeing how I made this card step by step, be sure to check out the video below (or HERE on YouTube):

Thanks for sticking with me through this long post. I hope you like the card and that it inspires you to create something to celebrate the upcoming warm months!

Big hugs,

Jess

 

I entered this card into the A Blog Named Hero challenge for April – Anything Goes. Check out the blog HERE or by clicking the image:

2 thoughts on “Card Walkthrough – Hero Arts Stamped Background

  1. kellyszafron says:

    Hopefully everything is ok with your son. Very fun card! I love the vibrant colours you used. Thank you for sharing your card at a A Blog Named Hero.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

